Welcome to my life

Embarking on a new adventure is fun and scary. This is mine. For the next several weeks and months (and years?!) I will be here sharing my thoughts and images of my life as an artist and photographer. I’ll be traveling and participating in photowalks and plein air paintings ~ which means I’ll also share new painting or photography techniques as I try them. And hopefully I’ll be entertaining & funny… hopefully!

As much as I’d like to sit here and tell you that Art is all about creativity and color and composition, it’s not. Well… it is, but it’s so much more. Art is business, too. So, my plan is to also share my own first-hand trials and tribulations of running a small business (including finding/applying for grants and funding).

When I decided to be a full-time artist, I thought I knew what I was getting into… but boy was (am?) I clueless! Sure, I know about art and am told I have a great eye and talent. But Oh! the things I didn’t know (and am still learning!) Good thing I have a good sense of humor otherwise I’d be pulling my hair out. I’ve now gotten a few years under my belt with a myriad of experiences ~ from my own solo gallery show of my photography to several juried shows that featured both my photography and paintings both here and internationally, and oodles of on-line competitions and contests. Not to mention showing in on-line galleries!

I’ll close with one of the most important things I’ve learned:
We all bring our own special and unique nuances to our art forms ~ when it comes to art, there’s room for everyone.

And yes, of course I want you to visit my on-line galleries and facebook page, too!!

“Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and  fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being  here. Make. Good. Art.” (Neil Gaiman)

4 thoughts on “Welcome to my life

  1. John says:

    Well Carol, let me be the first of hopefully millions and kagillions of comments for your new blog. First off, I have been keeping tabs on your posts and work. What seems to stand out to me is your attitude. Your attitude is what makes the difference in anything we do. Yes your art is important (yours is very good by the way) but without the correct attitude, nothing will ever work. You definitely have the attitude necessary to make whatever goals you may have come true. Remember this, and yes I sound like an old fool when I say this, but always remember your success is to be measured by you and only you. If you believe yourself to be a success, then you are.
    Good luck with the new venture, actually, its about time you created a blog.

    Like

  2. Mae says:

    Carol I love that you chase your dreams, someone once said you can’t learn from your mistakes if you don’t make any! I believe in you and love your artwork. You go girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

