Luck of the Irish

I found a few 5-leaf clovers in the backyard last summer. They have no connection to St. Patrick’s Day to my knowledge, but they’re like amped-up super-shamrocks so I thought I’d post about it.

According to legend, the three-leaf clover, or shamrock, had been used by St. Patrick as a metaphor for the Christian Trinity. Each leaf is believed to represent something else, too: the first is for faith, the second is for hope, the third is for love.

I’m pretty sure everyone knows that the fourth is for luck!

Now, I’ve seen a few meanings of the 5th leaf. The top two are “extra luck”  (boorring! if you have 4 you already have extra luck, right?!) and my personal fave, a financial windfall or “extra money” (now that makes sense! …and yes, please!)

In the spirit of prosperity and 5 leaf clovers, here’s the poster I made today:

Luck of the Irish

Luck of the Irish to all of us ~ and remember tomorrow, EVERYONE is Irish!

Leave a Reply

