Dream and Believe

Being an artist ~ living as an artist ~ is hard to do with a logical mind. In fact, one could argue that it’s virtually impossible to be both. Yet, here I am. What can I say? I’m an enigma…

Don’t for one second believe that some days my logical mind doesn’t rear up and scream “what are you doing!?!?” The artist in me just shuts her up with chocolate. (Ok, just kidding! …sort of!)

Actually, if you think about it, my life is very logical: I am doing what I’m meant to do.

Believe

And I’m happy. And I learn new things every day. Really. Sometimes it’s even early in the morning so I’m set for the day! (get it? “you learn something new every day”! hahaha!)

When it comes to photography, I’m not even close to an expert and, quite frankly, dslr cameras can be really confusing at times. There are days that it’s pretty tempting to just set it to auto-everything and just take pictures, and there’s nothing wrong with that…

except that it leaves all the creativity up to the camera.  zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (that’s so boring I fell asleep)

So during my photowalks, there will be times that I just set the camera to something new and shoot. More creative = more fun! And it helps you get used to what the camera can do (which is a lot!)

If you’re new to your camera, like I am to mine, here are some important (so I think) tips:
•When you get a new camera, read the manual. Sounds kinda boring, but it will familiarize you with the functions.
•If it comes with instructional discs, watch them. In my experience, they have more information than the manual, which also helps you learn more functions.
•Play with your camera ~ choose different auto settings, or for even more fun, put it on manual settings.
•Go slowly ~ do one new thing a day (or week) ~ it’s not a contest or competition.
•Don’t just stick to what you know or what you like best ~ you learn more outside your comfort zone (and it’s more fun!)
•If it’s not fun, why do it? (you’ll notice that having fun is a theme for me… life’s too short and all…)

It’s ok if people think I’m a dreamer and that one of these days I’ll have to come back to “reality” ~ but there’s something truly life-affirming about living a life that makes you happy. That is the goal, right? As I was thinking about the blog today I came across this quote by Sarah Ban Breathnach that really spoke to me:

Dream and Do

And I’d say that’s exactly who I am: A dreamer in action!

Leave a Reply

