Secret wishes, granted

I love butterflies. There. I said it. It’s out in the open. It’s not surprising that as the seasons change from winter to spring that butterflies are on my mind.

I relate to them so much that I’m drawn to them on so many levels. In fact, the butterfly has been one of my totems. Think about it. There are so many reasons to like butterflies. Not just the insect itself, but the feeling of love (oh! what a feeling!), and the symbolism.

I have found that butterflies are symbolic in virtually all cultures ~ I say “virtually” because I’ve not studied all cultures so I’m covering my b… bases! (hehehe! I know what you thought I was going to write!)  And, while they do symbolize different things to different cultures, universally, they represent change and transformation. Why? Because the butterfly begins its life in one form and ends it in another.

But not just “representing” change,  the butterfly is a reminder to actually make changes when the opportunity arises (isn’t it ironic that the one true stable thing about life is change?) I happen to embrace change. How boring would life be if everything stayed the same?

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (fell asleep thinking about how boring that would be!)

I’ve painted them. I’ve drawn them:

Butterfly drawn

I wear them in jewelry. I’ve photographed them:

Butterfly

I have wall decorations. And I’ve considered a butterfly tattoo (but it seems a little over-done, ya know? Although I’d use my own drawing if I ever did get it.)

I think the excitement that causes the butterflies in your stomach when in love ~ the excitement of what will happen next ~ might just be the best thing about butterflies.

It’s either that or this Native American legend I recently read that says:

“If you have a secret wish, capture a butterfly and whisper your wish to it. Since butterflies cannot speak, your secret is ever safe in their keeping. Release the butterfly, and it will carry your wish to the Great Spirit, who alone knows the thoughts of butterflies. By setting the butterfly free, you are helping to restore the balance of nature, and your wish will surely be granted.”

Tell me that’s not beautiful.

Leave a Reply

