Happy Perfume

Where do you find inspiration? Is it easy some days and nearly impossible on others? Yeah, for me too.

This morning has started out as one of those ‘nearly impossible’ days…

And then (just like it was supposed to happen) a friend sent me something with Og Mandino’s name and BOOM! it all made sense ~ (for now… I have no illusion that tomorrow will make sense… or later today for that matter… such is life!) ~ I could look to the words of people I find wise or inspirational.

First quote I saw (by Og Mandino ~ clearly the place to start, right?!):

“Realize that true happiness lies within you. Waste no time and effort searching for peace and contentment and joy in the world outside. Remember that there is no happiness in having or in getting, but only in giving. Reach out. Share. Smile. Hug. Happiness is a perfume you cannot pour on others without getting a few drops on yourself.”

That quote reminded me that the other day I mentioned that given the choice, I choose happiness. It doesn’t mean that every day is a great day and that struggles and ugliness doesn’t rear up, but rather that when those days and emotions do come up I can acknowledge them and then move forward from there. Otherwise, it’s just wasted time.

Time Well Spent

So thank you to all of the words of wisdom and people that inspire me and for all the ways (obvious and not-so) that I am reminded that life is as I choose it.

Leave a Reply

