The Buck Stops Here

Finding grants and funding is an ongoing reality… and some days seems more of my job than being an artist. There are so many pieces of information to crawl through (be-friend your local librarian… Seriously! Librarians are one of the best resources out there!) that it gets daunting and overwhelming ~ and at times a little discouraging.

I’m not complaining, mind you, after all I’m looking and asking for “free” money. (Yes, “free” because it really ain’t-so! There is a lot of work and time involved in this process.)

The fact of the matter is I’m happy and know I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing, and because of that, the money (abundance) will be actualized. (<– there’s power in choosing the right words…)

abundance

Let me say that people who have money and are willing to give it to someone so they can follow their dreams are top-notch (not sucking up at all here) and I totally get that they want specifics and plans and goals and re-drafts (etc.) so they know exactly what they’re supporting and where the money is going. (Ask away, funders!)

You know, it’s even possible that some of those very people I’ve made requests to, filled out pages of paperwork for, waited patiently for weeks (and months!) to hear a reply from, are actually reading this blog. To them I say: Welcome! Follow along! See that I’m actually serious and doing and creating! Feel free to drop me a message (hint, hint…) saying you’d love to fund my project!

I guess what I’m getting at is that, since I’ve taken on the hunt for funding, I’ve learned that, while I’m flexible and receptive to others, I need to listen to my own instincts (regardless of any hurdles I may come up against.) I’m open to suggestion but not at the cost of the vision. So I’ll be patient and continue on reaching goals and following my dreams!

action not words

Leave a Reply

