Catching Spontaneity

One of the reasons I’m 1. blogging and 2. trying new techniques and photowalks is to grow as a photographer and artist. I’ve already said that I have a need to get out of my comfort zone. I’m also doing it to hopefully inspire anyone who reads me to get out your camera and play with it (and no you do not need to have the fanciest or most expensive camera to take great photographs!).

Nature photography is very popular and has a lot of enthusiastic participants. I think one of the positive aspects is that it’s not always easy to achieve beautiful results in nature photographs ~ other’s may (do? will?) find that particular aspect “unfortunate”. (Where other’s complain, I embrace!)

Weather and the elements (yep, talking about weather… again! well, it is nature photography) are unpredictable at best ~ the lighting and shade aspects are difficult to control (to say the least) and influence the photographer (cold and rainy is my personal least favorite!), the shots and the final product as well.

Here are a few examples of some photographs I’ve taken over the past few years, and while they’re not all taken during the worst inclement weather, they are definitely not from a calm sunny day either.

This one is one of my most popular photographs (and one of my all-time faves):

Big snow on a winter’s evening

A not-so-calm day at the beach:

Wave splash from rough waters at the coast

Wave splash from rough waters at the coast

Sunny, blustery day:

Blowin' in the Wind

Strong winds blowing snow through pine trees

During a light rain:

Raindrops on Clover

Raindrops collecting on clover leaves

Many photographers, including myself, can spend several hours studying and photographing the scenery at different angles to find the best view. Seemingly spontaneous nature photographs can be truly beautiful and one-of-a-kind ~ and catching that “spontaneity” takes time, effort and practice.

I’m sure you all have noticed that nature photography is my main subject and pretty much my comfort zone. I have no intention to turn my back on it as a subject, however I do intend to find different ways to express myself in the genre. Thus the reason for trying new techniques and taking photowalks… I’d really like to photowalk at least one place in each of the 50 states! (how cool would that be?!)

And I truly hope that coming along on this journey with me inspires you to get out and use that camera of yours, too!

2 thoughts on “Catching Spontaneity

  1. The Big Snow photo is my absolute favorite. It seems so magical. Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

