Better a thousand times careful…

Today started out normal (well as close to normal as I can get! ha!) ~ I wasn’t sure what I wanted to post about, so I flexed my procrastination muscle and went about finding other things to do.

You know it must be bad when I decide that laundry is a better use of my time than work, but it does have to get done, right?

As I was in the laundry room, I smelled something “hot” ~ as in burning ~ and being the dutiful daughter of a retired firefighter, the fire department was called. Louden was put in his carrier and outside we went (thank God it wasn’t still raining or storming!)

And then came the fire trucks. 4 of them. For a little-itty-bitty-not-even-visible potential house fire (apparently the house is in-between 2 stations so they both get the call. I’m ok with it, more of them to love!)

Making what could be an even longer story short (well, shorter) ~ after using an infrared scan to make sure there wasn’t something smouldering in the chimney or furnace or dryer or wall, they said everything was ok.

WHEW!

And then the one stand-up comic of the bunch says: “Some people will do anything to get out of laundry day…” HAHAHA!! Thank you funny fireman! I was feeling a little shaken, then embarrassed and idiotic for calling and having it turn out to be nothing so your joke did relieve me a bit… but don’t quit your day job! (Please don’t! Not because you’re not funny, but because you’re a firefighter.)

God Bless Firefighters!

God Bless Firefighters!

On the other hand, he may have been on to something…. like: some people (ahem, cough-cough) seem to do just about anything to have something to blog about!

PS: Thank you, Firefighters ~ every day!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

