Broken Wings

Happy Monday!  (what a strange thing to say!! how many times have you ever heard that?! haha!)

This morning I was out in the yard and saw the flitting of a large butterfly ~ a kind I’d never seen up close before (yay new butterfly!) ~  and, of course, had to grab the camera!

The amazing thing I noticed as I got closer (and as you’ll see in the photos) was that this butterfly had broken wings. It flitted along just as any other I’ve seen, happily sharing its beauty.

I had the honor of this butterfly sharing its beauty with me

I had the honor of this butterfly sharing its beauty with me

which made it even more beautiful

which made it even more beautiful

As I thought about it I realized this is a wonderful metaphor for life!

We can walk through our lives, letting things that break us also trip us up or stop us

OR

we can happily share our own beauty and let those ‘broken wings’ carry us to our goals and dreams.

And, since I believe in symbolism:
the black butterfly is associated with change, transition, freedom and rebirth… and the death of all the bad things and misfortunes!

Leave a Reply

