Bugs

I am not a fan of bugs.

No offense to the little buggers (haha!) but whenever I see one, any kind of bug, I’m pretty sure I feel it crawling on me for quite a while afterwards! (and am only extremely rarely correct about it, thank God!)

However, I am living proof that it is possible to be creeped out by bugs and fascinated with them at the same time.

Maybe it’s because I’ve never really stopped to take a look at them before… I mean besides 7th or 8th grade science when we made bug collections (or was it 6th?). And all I remember about that is that living on a farm was a definite advantage!

Anyway, I was sitting outside (yes, in this heat! and loving it!) under the pergola and noticed a few creatures hanging around.

At first my skin crawled, but then I took a closer look (and found another one under a grape leaf) and look, they’re kinda cool-looking.

holding on for dear life, apparently ~ this one has it's front legs crossed over the leaf's stem

holding on for dear life, apparently ~ this one has its front legs crossed over the leaf’s stem

same kind of bug, different color ~ this one's orange(ish)  and was crawling up the side of the pergola

same kind of bug, different color ~ this one’s orange(ish) and was crawling up the side of the pergola

this one has wings! and they're really pretty, too (yeah, I just said that about a giant bug!) it was hanging under the hand rail (good thing I don't use it! eeek!)

this one has wings! and they’re a really pretty green, too (yeah, I just said “pretty” in reference to a giant bug!) it was hanging under the hand rail (good thing I don’t use it! eeek!) ~ you can see that it was looking right at me, too…

Ok, they’re still c-r-e-e-p-y!

I do appreciate the, ahem, beauty in them now though.

One thing I can promise ~ you won’t see a post here about the beauty of spiders! (shiver up my spine just typing that!)

Leave a Reply

