Bob Ross

I love going for walks this time of year… when the leaves are all changing colors.

It’s truly beautiful.

It also makes me think of the painter Bob Ross (if you don’t remember him, you will when you see the pictures below!)

Anyway, as I walk I look at the trees and I can see him in front of that empty canvas and how he turned globs of color into amazing paintings.

He was so incredibly talented.

I decided to search his name online and some images came up that literally (yes, I used that correctly!) made me laugh out loud.

And I share them with you, now:

can you be anything but calm when watching Bob Ross???

can you be anything but calm when watching Bob Ross?

Happy trees are a given!

of course he did!

of course he did!

I shared the one above with a friend and she replied “…actually, I believe it was Burnt Umber” ~ now that’s funny!

brilliant!

brilliant!

Here’s something I doubt you know about Bob Ross (I didn’t until today!):
He enlisted in the US Air Force at age 17. Having held military positions that required him to be, in his own words, “mean” and “tough,” “the guy who makes you scrub the latrine, the guy who makes you make your bed, the guy who screams at you for being late to work,” Ross decided that if he ever moved on from the military, “it wasn’t going to be that way any more,” vowing “never to scream again.”

The last episode of his show, The Joy of Painting, was filmed in 1994 (obviously, you can still watch them on tv and online.) While his legacy and paintings live happily on, he passed away in 1995.

I still happily watch his show from time to time and sit quietly amazed and inspired at his talent.

Again, none of these are my images. I did not see who to give credit to from the search, but kudos to the clever minds that came up with these memes. Thanks for the chuckles.

Leave a Reply

