Urban Wildlife

It may be coming clear to you that I like to photograph (some may say “stalk” hehe!) animals here in my city.

It’s an ongoing photography theme I have and of course, some seem a bit more interesting (read: photogenic) than others.

To that end, have you ever seen a black squirrel? 

100_1660

(you have now! hehe!)

I was surprised to read that they’re rare, since it seems this is all I ever see in the yard and my neighborhood.

100_1713

However, out of the squirrel population of the United States, apparently only one in ten thousand is black. (Who knew?!)

Some people believe that seeing a black squirrel will bring good luck and financial prosperity.

(Alright! I’m a believer!! Send some right on to me, thanks!!)

100_1656

Unfortunately, there is also the myth (let’s hope!) that an abundance of black squirrels in the fall indicated an above average harsh winter. (That’s what the Farmer’s Almanac also says for this winter… uh oh!)

Louden just says they look tasty (but he’ll never know since I won’t let him near one!)

And also? They’re really kinda cute.

Squirrel!

Leave a Reply

