Chasing frozen bubbles, part deux

The air temp and windchill are well below zero again, so I got out the bubbles for another experiment!

This time, for a little twist, I added some blue food color to the mix.

I’m not sure if I consider it successful or not, though. (ok, it was fun, that’s a success! hehe!)

First, the bubbles didn’t freeze like the last time (who knew that -20 wasn’t cold enough to instantly freeze colored bubble mix?!)

about 5-10 seconds after blowing them -- not frozen (yet)

about 5-10 seconds after blowing them — not frozen (yet)

Second, I couldn’t find a place where I was out of the wind (yeah, I do know how silly that sounds considering the reason I tried this was because of the WINDchill!)

these just blew right on by -- quite frankly I was surprised I captured them

these just blew right on by — quite frankly I was surprised I captured them

And third, blue wasn’t the best choice for color, but it did make for a good “after”

it looks like it's running! and it has a face! so awesome!

it looks like it’s running! and it has a face! so awesome!

Poor little stick-figure-popped-bubble-in-the-snow-dude!

It was kind of fun for a bit, until my fingers felt like they were frozen.

I will admit that I also kind of enjoyed being out in the frigid temp (but will deny it if anyone asks! hehe!) I found it kind of revitalizing!

Louden even ventured out in it… for less than a minute. And he was vocal (surprise!) about his displeasure. I think he said something about “if the sun is shining and it’s warm when I’m lying in a ray of it in the house, why is it so darn cold out here?!?!”

The temp is due to drop significantly again in a few days. Maybe I’ll try again if it’s colder (what?) and with a different color.

Third time’s a charm, right?

Leave a Reply

