Gone Building

On occasion, I like to drive around and re-visit places I’ve photographed, just to see if anything has changed.

I was saddened, then, when I drove by one of my favorite locales – of what I thought was a beautiful, old, stone building – and saw that it has now been torn down.

Here are my final photos of it, taken earlier this year…

IMG_0667

Look at the beautiful old stone (I think it’s limestone, but I’m not certain)

IMG_0673

And, quite frankly, the structure seems pretty sound… especially for a building that lasted most of a century! I guess looks can be deceiving – or the land-owner had more important use for this parcel of land.

Alas (you know I love that word!), I guess the old adage is true: not all things are meant to last forever.

Thank you, Nicéphore Niépce for pioneering the field of photography, so memories like this can be kept alive!

(quick knowledge/history bomb to drop: The Frenchman, Nicéphore Niépce, is widely credited as the inventor of photography. He developed heliography, a technique he used to create the world’s oldest surviving product of a photographic process: a print made from a photoengraved printing plate in 1825. In 1826 or 1827, he used a primitive camera to produce the oldest surviving photograph of a real-world scene.)

Thanks for stopping by – have a great day!

Leave a Reply

